Temagami Logging Management Units Map

Ministry of Natural Resources divides up the logging of Crown land of Ontario into blocks, or units. Each unit gets a management plan every five years and permits public comment during creation.

Temagami Management Unit is the primary unit for the greater Temagami region, but portions of Temagami are in three other units. Often the public misses these other logging-plan creations, probably because Temagami is not in the title.

Timiskaming, Sudbury and Nipissing are managed under licenses (sustainable forestry licenses SFL's) to privately-owned companies. Temagami is one of only two units still managed by the Ontario government, though it intends to change that.



MNR Office


North Bay


Kirkland Lake




North Bay


   Home   Rupert Battle   Rupert River   Temagami   Che-Mun

    Forum   Crees   Camps   Canoes   Keewaydin Way   Search   About   Contact Us

Maps and information herein are not intended for navigational use, and are not represented to be correct in every respect. 
All pages intended for reference use only, and all pages are subject to change with new information and without notice. 
The author/publisher accepts no responsibility or liability for use of the information on these pages. 
Wilderness travel and canoeing possess inherent risk. 
 It is the sole responsibility of the paddler and outdoor traveler to determine whether he/she is qualified for these activities.
Copyright  2000-2014 Brian Back.  All rights reserved.
We do not endorse and are not responsible for the content of any linked document on an external site.

Photo Credit policy