Forums Forums Help/Rules Help Edit Profile My Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search  
Ottertooth Forums * Temagami canoe routes & backcountry travel * Archive through May 29, 2009 * Smoothwater-Florence-Solace-Scarecrow Loop < Previous Next >

Link to this message

rossclan

Post Number: 1
Posted on Sunday, August 31, 2008 - 10:59 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post

Very interesting site. Have been looking for some new routes for an annual Sept week trip I have been doing for 30 years and havent travelled this part of Temagami. Am looking for opinion on this route in 7 days/6 nights including travel from southern Ont and access via the Beauty Lk Rd to Montreal River.

Night 1-Smoothwater(Launch at 12 noon after the drive)
Night 2-Florence(North end) via S. Lady(or on the river if too far)
Night 3-Pilgrim
Night 4-Solace
Night 5-Hamlow or Scarecrow
Night 6-Smoothwater
Day 7-back to landing and drive home.

Found the great maps posted re the Solace to Regan route.
 Link to this message

otter_mel

Post Number: 97

Posted on Monday, September 1, 2008 - 10:45 am:   Edit Post Delete Post

I think you are a bit overoptimistic for this route. In my opinion, it should be more like 9 to 10 days so that you don't have to go for 16 hours per day.
I have done all of these lakes and river routes you plan to do and to got from Smoothwater to Florence in one day is a giant push considering the possible water levels on South Lady Evelyn River.
Florence to Pilgrim is a long, long day, then you have a short day to Solace and another long one to Scarecrow.
In order to enjoy this trip add a couple of days. There are nice sights to see, Florence Mountain to climb and you want yo take it easy and enjoy the trip (this is not the Olympics!!)
 Link to this message

ed

Post Number: 590

Posted on Monday, September 1, 2008 - 11:49 am:   Edit Post Delete Post

rossclan:
Check out this earlier post by otter-mel :