Forums Forums Help/Rules Help Edit Profile My Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search  
Ottertooth Forums * Temagami canoe routes & backcountry travel * Archive through July 10, 2016 * Florence Lake loop < Previous Next >

Link to this message

sblakeley

Post Number: 1
Posted on Thursday, March 10, 2016 - 7:23 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post

Hello everybody, this is my first time taking part in the Ottertooth forum although I have been following it for a while. I spent all of my summers on Temagami when I was younger as my dad had a cottage there. I know the lake itself pretty well and most or the surrounding ones but this summer I am planning on trying something more ambitious, mainly the Forence Lake route. My plan is do this in 10-12 days starting and ending back at Sandy Inlet.

I plan to go through Wakimika and the series of lakes west of there on the way over although I know that is not the recommended direction to go. The thing is I would like to make the return by the Lady Evelyn River as I have been on it before.

My question is whether it is possible to go through Lewbert Lake to Ames Creek. On some maps the portages are listed as unconfirmed. Would this be a better route than coming up the Ames from Pinetorch? I am little worried about finding the portages on the Ames as they seem hard to locate. Also, is it possible to make it through that mud hole they call Skooztagan? I understand in dry years it can be a challenge and I don't want to get stuck there.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
 Link to this message

brian

Post Number: 1734

Posted on Friday, March 11, 2016 - 10:11 am:   Edit Post Delete Post

If it is on a map on Ottertooth, it is confirmed. Unlike other maps that are published using info from other maps or info in forums, everything on an Ottertooth map is there from actual exertion. And they can be revised regularly as conditions change.

So yes, the Lewbert route is there and well used.