Forums Forums Help/Rules Help Edit Profile My Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search  
Ottertooth Forums * Temagami canoe routes & backcountry travel * Archive through July 27, 2010 * Best Canoe Trip Survey < Previous Next >

Link to this message

seanmazur

Post Number: 1
Posted on Friday, May 21, 2010 - 9:55 am:   Edit Post Delete Post

Hi. I am new to Ottertooth.com but thought it would be a great place to get some advice on trips.

I have a friend coming from Iceland that wants an amazing Canadian canoe trip experience. We have 7 nights in late august......what would you recommend?? We are capable trippers, but not much white water experience.
 Link to this message

preacher

Post Number: 120
Posted on Friday, May 21, 2010 - 10:25 am:   Edit Post Delete Post

Head for old growth. Either Blueberry or Obabika or Chiniguchi.
If you decide on Obabika try to get hold of Alex Mathias or Misabi Adventures and get a tour of the area.

Or climb Maple Mountain.
 Link to this message

typhoonit

Post Number: 7
Posted on Wednesday, May 26, 2010 - 4:05 am:   Edit Post Delete Post

I've been planning a 6 day trip, and as such I've probably considered a few routes that might be good for you. Are there specific areas or things you want to see?

Please keep in mind that I've not done this route, so a sanity check might be a good idea before embarking on the route.

I considered the following route, and based on preacher's comments, you might have time to do both Obabika and Maple Mountain:

If you don't start in the town of temagami, you can avoid some of the long open water paddles that could strand you on shore if the winds pick up and add days to the trip, or you can arrange a shuttle pickup.

You could probably see the following in 7 days...

1. Paddle as close to Maple Mountain as you can
2. Paddle the rest of the way and Climb the Mountain
3. Paddle to Diamond Lake