Forums Forums Help/Rules Help Edit Profile My Profile Member List Register  
Search Last 1 | 3 | 7 Days Search Search  
Ottertooth Forums * Temagami canoe routes & backcountry travel * Archive through May 19, 2007 * Spring Trip, looking for advice and/or partner < Previous Next >

Link to this message

rob_in_angus

Post Number: 23
Posted on Sunday, January 7, 2007 - 7:14 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post

I am planning a trip for the first week of May. I am prepared to go solo if need be. This is my first canoe trip in Temagami save the gathering in Spetember.
Here are my parametres

I am a novice river traveller.

I would like to make a trip of six days.

I want to make a trip to Maple Mountain

I would sure like to stop at Alex's cabin to say hi as well.

Should be a loop or if somebody is interested in coming along we could make it a non-loop with a shuttle.

Judging by the winter we are having so far I have no fear of the lakes still be iced in.

Any suggestions or reccomendations?
 Link to this message

micmac

Post Number: 11

Posted on Sunday, January 7, 2007 - 10:19 pm:   Edit Post Delete Post

Rob - possibilities are endless...
First off - get Hap's book - tons of route ideas.
Secondly - I regularly paddle Temagami in early May; ice should't be a problem.

Off the top of my head... I'd suggest starting at Red Squirrel Lake, head North through Carrying, Mclean, Anima Nipissing lakes, then West through Whitewater and a chain of lakes into Lady Evelyn, from there through Diamond, Wakimika, Obabika (stop and visit with Alex), then get back onto Temagami and return to Red Squirrel.
--Should keep you busy for 5 days.
The route could also be extended by a number of side trips off Lady Evelyn if need be.
The possibilities really are endless...
Enjoy, planning's half the fun.
Mike
 Link to this message

ed

Post Number: 385

Posted on Monday, January 8, 2007 - 9:57 am:   Edit Post Delete Post

Rob: